Beta

SMS Information

It’s easy to add gifts to your Gift Hero account while you’re browsing the web on your phone.

What is this?

You can save any gift to your Gift Hero account by sending us a text message with the URL.

How?

If you haven’t connected SMS yet, add your phone number to the Phone/SMS section in your profile. Once that connection is made, you add gifts by doing the following:

  1. While on a web page that has the gift you’d like to add, use your phone’s Share feature

    iOS:

    1. Tap the Share icon
    2. Tap the Message icon
    3. Enter Gift Hero’s phone number in the ‘To:’ field: 1-657-500-4438 (Add this number to your Contacts to make the process faster)
    4. Tap the Send icon (upward pointing arrow)

    Android:

    1. Tap ‘Share…’
    2. Choose a message application
    3. Enter Gift Hero’s phone number in the ‘To’ field: 1-657-500-4438 (Add this number to your Contacts to make the process faster)
    4. Tap the Send icon
  2. Gift Hero will receive the message and add the gift to a special wish list labeled Uncategorized
  3. We will send you a reply by text to let you know your gift was recorded, or if there was an error
  4. At any time, visit your wish lists page, select the Uncategorized list, and organize its gift(s) however you’d like

Limitations

There are a few things to know:

  • SMS connectivity is currently supported in the US and Canada
  • Sending SMS messages to Gift Hero is exactly like sending text messages to your friends and family: it’s very easy, but depending on the plan you have with your phone carrier, it may not be free. Standard text & data rates may apply.
  • This feature only works with mobile phones that support SMS
  • Gift Hero uses a third-party SMS provider for this feature and, as a result, cannot guarantee perfect connectivity.

Disconnect SMS

If you no longer want this feature enabled, it’s very easy to disconnect:

  1. Go to the Phone/SMS section in your profile
  2. In the box that says ‘SMS connected’, click the ‘Disconnect SMS’ link
  3. In the confirmation box that appears next, click ‘Disconnect’

That’s it! If you change your mind, it’s easy to reconnect SMS in the future.

Questions? Contact us anytime at .